

# Media contact: Marit Harm 414.301.6680 mharm@tempomilwaukee.org

#### 2015/2016 Board of Directors

Officers Board Chair Jayne Hladio U.S. Bank

Past Chair Linda Newberry-Ferguson Rehabilitation Hospital of Wisconsin

Treasurer/Secretary Kris Best bvk

Governance Heather Fields Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren s.c.

**Directors** 

Communications Lori Richards Mueller Communications

Membership Sharon deGuzman Baird

Programming Mary Burgoon Rockwell Automation

Directors-at-Large Katie Clark Three Harbors Council, BSA

Marybeth Cottrill Northern Trust

Tami Garrison MillerCoors

Cathy Girard Goodwill Industries of Southeastern Wisconsin

Marilyn Krause The Lowe Group

Jody Lowe The Lowe Group

Linda Mertz Mertz Associates

Vinita Paul Heartland Advisors, Inc

. Paula Pergl *LauberCFOs* 

Rose Spano Iannelli Spano Pratt Executive Search

Ellen Trytek Drinker Biddle & Reath

President & CEO Jennifer Dirks TEMPO Milwaukee

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

**TEMPO Milwaukee to Honor Christy Brown, Peggy Troy, Quarles & Brady LLP** 26<sup>th</sup> Annual Mentor Awards Celebrates Mentoring and Education

MILWAUKEE—(February 2, 2016) — <u>TEMPO Milwaukee</u>, a professional women's organization, will host its 26<sup>th</sup> annual Mentor Awards luncheon on Thursday, February 18 at the Pfister Hotel in downtown Milwaukee. The event will honor **Christy Brown**, CEO of Girl Scouts of Wisconsin Southeast, **Peggy Troy**, President and CEO of Children's Hospital of Wisconsin, and **Quarles & Brady LLP** for their commitment to mentoring.

## **Event information:**

26<sup>th</sup> Annual Mentor Awards Luncheon February 18, 2016 | 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Pfister Hotel | 424 E. Wisconsin Ave.; Milwaukee Individual Tickets | \$95 Tables | \$975 Register: tempomilwaukee.org

"This year's deserving winners are standouts in the community for their dedication to positively shaping and elevating others, and creating a supportive workplace culture," said Jennifer Dirks, President & CEO of TEMPO Milwaukee. "We will celebrate Christy, Peggy and Quarles & Brady, and also the impact the program has had in furthering the education of young women over the past 26 years."

Each Mentor Award recipient will receive a \$5,000 scholarship, made possible through the TEMPO Milwaukee Foundation, to be provided to a Wisconsin college or university of choice in their name. Each scholarship will be awarded to a female student who shows ongoing commitment to leadership. TEMPO Milwaukee has provided more than \$200,000 in scholarships to approximately 66 Wisconsin women since 1990.

In 1990, TEMPO Milwaukee established the Mentor Awards event to recognize individuals and organizations in the community dedicated to the mentoring of others. Mentor Award recipients are nominated each fall by individuals within the Milwaukee community. Nominations are then judged on three criteria: mentoring of others, business leadership and community leadership.

The event is made possible with support from Champion of Education sponsor Associated Bank. Purchase tickets or learn more about TEMPO Milwaukee at <u>www.tempomilwaukee.org</u>.

## **About TEMPO Milwaukee**

TEMPO Milwaukee's membership is composed of 300+ women who hold CEO, executive and leadership positions throughout the Milwaukee area. Its mission is to further the impact of women leaders in our community. TEMPO Milwaukee serves its diverse membership and community through educational programming, networking opportunities, relationship building, and mentoring, with the goal of empowering women to achieve and sustain leadership roles.